Homemade Beet Hummus and Pita Chips

I love love love hummus, It’s so easy to make and you only need a little bit to fill you up! I’m currently trying new types of hummus and I found a recipe for BEET Hummus! I was sold on the color. Plus. I love beets.

 20140112_120338

Ingredients:

20140112_120458

  • 3 beets
  • 1 can of chick peas
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 3 cloves of garlic

Directions:

  1. Peel and boil the beets (about 45 min until they’re soft and cooked)
  2. Roast your garlic with olive oil for about 45 min as well (I wrapped the cloves in tinfoil and filled it with olive oil)
  3. In the blender add EVERYTHING, beets, chickpeas, lemon juice, olive oil, salt, pepper, and roasted garlic. Blend until smooth
  4.  Optional: Home made Pita Chips: Cut pita into wedges, sprinkle with garlic salt and Parmesan cheese. Bake at 350F for 6 min.

I separated the hummus into little containers so I had something to snack on at work. Careful if you’re wearing white!

20140112_12061620140112_120324

That’s it!! ENJOY!

4 thoughts on “Homemade Beet Hummus and Pita Chips

    • It’s amazing! It comes out a bit sweeter than traditional hummus, so not a lot of veggies go well with it. I stick with the Pita Chips and Carrots to dip it.

Leave a Reply

