DIY Homemade Chapsticks

537432_4739684143268_2057646363_n

I’ve always wanted to make my own chapsticks, and it’s incredibly simple!

I just bought a batch of 50 empty chapstick tubes from esty, along with little pebbles of bees wax. Very inexpensive.

Ingredients: Makes 4 chapsticks

  • 1 tablespoon Beeswax
  • 1 tablespoon Coconut Oil
  • 4 chapstick tubes
  • essential oil of your choosing

—- Note: I like a more smooth, shinier finish, so I added 1:1 ratio of coconut oil to beeswax. If you prefer a more matte finish, add more beeswax.

Another tip, if you would like color. Add Jello or Koolaid powder! I kept mine clear since I was giving them away and didn’t know people’s preference.

Directions:

  1. In a double broiler (i lined mine with tin foil so it’s easier to clean) melt the wax
  2. once melted, add the coconut oil, heat until fully melted
  3. Add your flavoring, I also used flavor extract, the simple ones from any supermarket, and it worked! But I had to use quite a bit to get the flavor to shine through. Lorann Oils work best.
  4. Using the tin foil that lined the double broiler, make a little pouring spout so it’s easier to fill the chaptick tubes
  5. let it solidify for half hour

I also just printed a picture of the fruit that the chapstick was flavored with, on some name tag stickers and stuck them on.

Voila! Cheap & cute gifts! Enjoy!

 

One thought on “DIY Homemade Chapsticks

Leave a Reply

